What If…You delete a work item field ?

Recently I was doing some work on Work Items. I had to remove a field from a Work Item and wondered what would happen with History etc..

In this blog post I describe the things that happen if you delete a field from a Work Item Type Definition.

For this post I added a Field “Test.TemporaryField” to a Bug Work Item.

image

I added the field to the form and saved 3 revisions of the Bug.

image

This reflects in the history as expected.

image

Then I remove the field from the Work Item Type. Of course I removed it from the form first.

image

But then….

I hoped that the history would still contain the field, but the history only shows fields that are currently available on the work item.

image

But in the Tfs_Warehouse all history is still preserved

image

And then as a final test, I re-added the field to the bug. Magically, all history pops up again. Obviously it was not deleted at all..

image

Hope this saves you a lot of uncertainty…

Advertisements

One Response to “What If…You delete a work item field ?”

  1. comment 4 years later sorry,
    Did you run the WitAdmin deleteField command? after removing it from the WIT?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: